London five-piece reach new elements with latest album

Given the jump forward in the music scene which 2010 album ‘All Our Kings Are Dead’ gave ‘Young Guns’, you wonder how they could top themselves. Well the answer is with the same style of music which we know and love plus stronger vocals from lead singer ‘Gustav Wood’ and the rest of the band, and adding in more of a Pop-Punk feel to several of their songs.

Bones-Album Cover

The album starts off by pounding out an energetic intro from opening track ‘I Was Born, I Have Lived, I Will Surly Die’, and the instruments are joined by Wood’s powerful voice over the top and  the hard hitting drums don’t let you stay still as you will find yourself moving along with the track. The song will keep your head nodding throughout and opens the album up well, showing the new aspects which ‘Young Guns’ are offering their fans.

Young Guns

It doesn’t stop at the first song though as the album keeps bringing different things from the boys which are new for their already avid fans. Songs such as ‘Brother In Arms’ and first single ‘Learn My Lesson’ give us a sound not heard from the band before, they take on the Pop-Punk genre with their catchy hooking riffs, and will have you jumping around more than pumping your fist, which songs such as ‘D.O.A’ on their 2010 album would have done. It isn’t only the instruments which change slightly on this album though, the whole band throw in their vocals in tracks like ‘Dearly Departed’ which go down a treat with the eardrums. Gustav Wood also extends his already passionate voice to it’s very limits, screaming out in ‘You Are Not’. 2010 album ‘All Our Kings Are Dead’ focused mainly on the lyrics of the songs rather than dragging in fans with just catchy riffs, but ‘Bones’ uses both of these elements and brings them together well.

Frontman-Gustav Wood

Young Guns are from High Wycombe, London they formed in 2003 and released their EP ‘Mirrors’ in 2009, along with their debut album ‘All Our Kings Are Dead’ in July 2010. The band consists of Gustav Wood – Vocals, Ben Jolliffe – Drums, Fraser Taylor – Guitar, John Taylor – Guitar and Simon Mitchell – Bass. Together the band create a new version of Brit-Rock combining raw guitar riffs, rocking melodies and thought-provoking lyrics making ‘Young Guns’ a unique band like no other.

The album screams classic ‘Young Guns’ giving us songs such as ‘Towers (On My Way)’ and ‘Everything Ends’ which have the band’s typical massive breakdowns and guitar solos in the verses. Their recently released single, ‘Bones’, silenced us with glorious chords and a hard rock Guitar solo in the middle. The chorus jumps your body around as Wood sings “I feel it in my bones” and the band shout back “bones, bones”.

The album ends as powerfully as it began with song ‘Broadfields’ which draws us in with an acoustic beginning and then slams in the other instruments and signs off the album with a sore neck from nodding the head so much.

‘Young Guns’ have definitely found their sound on this album and have come very far from EP ‘Mirrors’, this is an album which existing fans will enjoy and will entise other music listeners to give it a listen.

Bones is out now through PIAS Records.

Listen to: Bones, Brother In Arms, Headlights.

All Our Kings Are Dead '2010'

Mirrors EP '2009'